3 questions about university studies in Scotland

Tilia

So I graduated this spring and have decided to apply for universities in Scotland. I'm going to study some sort of chemistry, but I need some guidance to this weird educational system. I'm not at all familiar with the British school system and will probably ask very stupid questinos, but please answer them anyway.

In my country you start with doing a 3-year course leading to a bachelor's degree. After that you apply for another 2-year course, giving you a masters degree. But when I look at UCAS, it seems that you apply for one or the other and can apply directly for a master's course, if you wish. How does that work? I'm very confused. What should I apply for?

Secondly, many universities offer entry into second year. Since my grades are good enough and I feel very old compared to everyone else here, I'd like to go for that. In that case I'll only be 1-2 years older than the others, instead of 2-3 years. What will I miss during the first year? Is it an disadvantage going directly to second year in any sense? Will I miss alot of social things? The idea of coming to a class where everyone already know each other very well and don't want to get to know any foreigner is not to appealing, and I'm not exactly the world's most social being.

Thirdly, I meet all the requirements, but the universities require some sort of English course, like a 4 at SL. I did not take English, so I don't have that. But obviously I can speak English and I did take 2 national courses, equivalent to English SL. I'm also taking a short university course in English culture now. So is there anyway to get around this? I don't really feel like paying 150 euro to do a TOEFL test or anything.

Thanks for your help! :P