Chemistry revision help

Mawiege

Hey, I'm doing chemistry HL and I'm really nervous about my end-of-year exam (i'm in 1st year of IB).

Please write down what you think are the best and most effective ways of revising for chemistry to be well prepared...because I spend ages studying for every chem test we have and my marks are still usually pretty average...and i really want to do well on the exam.

Thanks <3

Here are few tips which i find useful:

You should try to get the most out of every practical you do. It’s better that you read the teacher's instructions for the practical before coming to class, plus you have to actually involve yourself in the practical so you do understand what this is all about. You should also write the lab report as early as you finish the practical. When you write the report, you will automatically go back to the related section from the syllabus for facts and reasoning, this will help you in "absorbing" the information in the book and actually understand what the book is talking about. so you see, the practicals are most helpful in understanding most of the concepts in chemistry, especially the latter topics, like oxidation and reduction, and energetics.

Besides that, make sure you study for Chemistry as a whole entity, meaning that you should relate things together. I think that the order in which the syllabus is presented is perfect in that the basics are first, and then come the deeper things that are based on the basics. So I recommend that you study for chemistry in the same order as the syllabus.