To IB, or not to IB

Alison

Hi! I'm new on here, my name is Ali. I am thinking about going full IB, but I'm not sure yet, and i have some questions. Can you take ToK only senior year? I'm not very good at memorizing dates and stuff, is there a history class that does do that? How hard is music IB (im in band)? I am an average student. I have been in challenge/honors classes my whole life, and i usually get B's A' and C's. I am motivated and i usually am a great test taker. Im a sophomore.

the bottom line, should i do the full IB? i have to declare tomorrow.

• Like 1

I think you should take it, overall it's a good experience. In terms of History that's a subject you don't have to take at all (in most schools) although a first language (usually English), Math and at least one science are all compulsory.

But yeah if you're well motivated and have good time management skills (and if you aren't - you will be) you should definitely go for it!

yeah my class schedule for next year (at least what i signed up for)

-History of americas SL

-Biology HL

-World Lit HL

-Elementary analysis (pre calc)

-German 3 IB

-Band, Music HL

I want to take math studies, but for some reason it is only available for seniors at my school ?, but the requirements are to pass the class that i am in currently (alg2) so i might have to talk to my counselor about that. I don't know if i want to take music HL, im a pretty avid musician but im not sure what i would be getting myself into.

Thanks Aron! i think i might go for it!

Biology is a lot of memorizing so avoid if you don't like that kind of stuff.