Visual arts EE?

Guest li2

Hey guys! I'm natalia from Indonesia. I'm a year 11 IB student. This year,we,IB students,have to finish the EE and CAS, so when we're year 12, we just focus in the assessments and exams.

I wanna ask you guys, i choose visual arts for my EE and i wanna write about photography. Is it OK? coz i think it's difficult and NOW i'm confused. Coz i dunno how to write and talk bout it in 4000 words and what i'm going to talk about. Can you give me advice? :D

• 3 weeks later...

This is my first year in IB too, and I wanted to my extended essay in Visual Arts. The problem is, my teacher doesn't even understand half the things she's supposed to, so I was just wondering if I did the EE on, "How does context affect painting?" is that too broad?

Context can be just about anything, but if I narrowed it down to something like, "How does being a woman affect the way you paint?" is that still too general or is that just a bad topic? Would really appreciate some advice!

Edit: Typos. :sadnod:

Edited by Negin

This is my first year in IB too, and I wanted to my extended essay in Visual Arts. The problem is, my teacher doesn't even understand half the things she's supposed to, so I was just wondering if I did the EE on, "How does context affect painting?" is that too broad?

Context can be just about anything, but if I narrowed it down to something like, "How does being a woman affect the way you paint?" is that still too general or is that just a bad topic? Would really appreciate some advice!

Edit: Typos. :sadnod:

Yes, both titles are too broad.

"How does context affect painting?" is MUCH too broad. You'd probably run out of words just discussing context, and never get to the painting part.

"How does being a woman affect the way you paint?" on the other hand, can get you waffling, since there's affecting the way you paint than just your gender. That and the fact that it doesn't exactly sound academic.