Considering IB

Zeke

Hi, I've just finished my gr. 9 year in BC Canada, and am looking for some advice.

I've been a pretty good student ever since elementary school, getting A's and B's and getting generally high scores on tests and things without having to study much at all. So, normally, I think I would enjoy IB, except I'm also a dedicated music student. Next June I'm taking my gr. 10 RCM piano exam, and I'm planning on doing my ARCT performer's exam in June 2012 (that would be about a month after I would do my ib exams). Anyway, bottom line is that I spend at around 1-2 hrs a day practicing piano. Also, though I still have 5 theory courses to take preferably before June 2012, all of which take at least half a year to do.

I'm interested in the program but I'm worried, do you think it is possible to do IB with extra-curricular activities? Or will I suffer from mental anguish later on? O.o Btw, my current school just got accepted as an IB school, when I start gr 11 we will only be the second group of students to try it out. The courses are limited, but there is also West Vancouver High near by that has had the diploma program since 1986 and has many more choices in terms of courses.

Definitely possible. I had already finished RCM grade 10 piano by elementary school and I didn't bother doing ARCT because I didn't want to do all the theory lol, so I didn't have that problem.

But my best friend just finished teacher's ARCT the summer after we finished IB and she also had to go through all the theory etc..she ended up with 41/45 points in IB. So clearly having to practice piano daily didn't negatively effect her studies :D.