ib subject choices for business majors?

clara1

Im a year 11 student now going into year 12 ib curriculum and i've recently decided that I want to pursue a business related major such as mergers and acquisitions or consulting. The subjects i'm planning to change to are HL english langlit, business, maths AI, and SL spanish B, biology and geography. Originally i was going to pick SL psychology instead of geography but i heard geography is easier to get points and doesn't really matter on college applications. Also i've heard that maths AI gives a better advantage for business majors in uni because it works with statistics more than AA and its easier? Please let me know if my subject choices are good. Thank you so much!

• 3 weeks later...
On 8/15/2023 at 9:58 AM, clara1 said:

Im a year 11 student now going into year 12 ib curriculum and i've recently decided that I want to pursue a business related major such as mergers and acquisitions or consulting. The subjects i'm planning to change to are HL english langlit, business, maths AI, and SL spanish B, biology and geography. Originally i was going to pick SL psychology instead of geography but i heard geography is easier to get points and doesn't really matter on college applications. Also i've heard that maths AI gives a better advantage for business majors in uni because it works with statistics more than AA and its easier? Please let me know if my subject choices are good. Thank you so much!

Hello! First off, congrats on deciding to pursue the IB curriculum and having a clear direction for your future studies. It's challenging but rewarding.

Let's look at your subject choices:

HL English LangLit

This is a solid choice, especially if you're considering a career in business. Communication skills are crucial in fields like mergers and acquisitions or consulting.

HL Business