How to limit my History AI question? How to find sources?

WannaAproveIB

Hello everyone!!!

I'm a new IB student and it's my first time using this platform :)
This year my teacher of history had to go, so now I have a new one but she doesn't know much about the IB. Therefore, I'm a bit lost, especially in my IA, which I want to start so I don't get saturated next year.

For the last week I've been killing myself looking for sources for my inquiry question "To what extent were the Bismarckian alliance systems a cause of WWI?", but aside from not knowing how to look for sources, I've found that the inquiry question it's quite wide. So, reading some comments on this web page, I wanted to narrow it down.

Since I really want to do something in my IA related to Bismarck I decided to write the question "To what extent was the League of the Three Emperors successful in isolating France by preventing a coalition between Russia and France between 1871 and 1879?", although I don't know if it is well limited and/or it is possible to use it.

You see, putting us in the historical context a bit, the League of the Three Emperors was the first alliance system created by Bismarck (part of the Bismarckian systems) between Germany, Russia and Austria. In these systems, Bismarck had 3 aims: to isolate France (because France was likely to take revenge after the Franco-Prussian war), to make Germany the most important European power (to control Europe), and to do all this while avoiding war. Given this, I will try to cover the first objective, which is to isolate France. Among one of Bismarck's memoirs, there is talk about a "Nightmare of Coalitions", where he specifies that if France joins Russia it could attack Germany and therefore his Bismarckian system, which is why it is the creation of the alliance the League of the Three Emperors.