What do you think of my EE proposal?

AlexMcFadden

I am just getting into my EE (no, i'm not a slacker, but I think my school is), and I was wondering what you think of my proposed title:

"Will GPGPUs replace traditional CPUs in the near future?"

I have never taken a formal CS class, but my dad is a hardware engineer with a Master's, my advisor is a coder, and I am surrounded by CS people.

I also realize that the format of this question is nearly identical to the CS example.

Is this a good proposal? Is it possibly too hard to get an A on?

If it's almost identical to the example that is provided by the IB, don't do it. I was about to do my EE on the significance of balls (as in dances) in Jane Austen's literature, and then my EE supervisor told me that the same question was in the EE booklet. I was made to change it. If it's there, it's not original.

If you were to do the question, I think it sounds quite broad to be honest, especially with regard to the phrase "the near future". You should define a time period, such as 10 years, to be the near future. Otherwise it could be regarded as the next 500 years, or any amount of time.

Your father being a hardware engineer and all the other people around you being computer people have nothing to do with your EE, unless you plan on making them write it for you. The role of the supervisor is to guide you, but they can only make comments on your first draft. You also have to read through all of the IB syllabus for CS to understand what they want you to include in terms of vocabulary and theory.

Originality is somethnig they really do look for. I fell in love with the topic they had in the Bio booklet for EE - something along the lines of analyzing the evolution of a symbiotic relationship of a fungi and bacteria. It sounds amazing, but I knew I had to do something else :)