Choosing DP SL and HL Classes?

miacc

I’m a little conflicted about choosing which subjects to take as higher levels. My school forces us to take English and History HL, so I basically only get the option of one other HL. That will probably be Chem, but I’m also considering Math HL. Because of my school’s requirements I’ve been considering taking 4 HLs since I hesr that colleges don’t often look at SL classes. I’m a straight A student, but I struggle with time management a lot, and I realize the commitment I’d need to make. Not sure if I’m making any sense here, I’d just appreciate some advice on deciding, maybe some perspective from people taking/who have taken 4 HLs? Thanks!

• 1 month later...

Hi! 4 HLs here. In the US, most colleges will not give you credit for SLs, and you generally need to score at least a 4 (or higher, depending on the school) to get credit. From my experience, US schools are a little different from the rest of the world, and they don't put as much stock into the precise choices and scores of your courses. We generally don't have conditional acceptances, so you have more give in your choices. So your choices are more based on what you think looks nice on your transcript, and the scores themselves on the exams don't actually matter as much.

Depending on what you're going into, Math and Chem HL might be necessary. If you're going into any sort of STEM thing, you probably want them both at HLs just because the course will better prepare you to study those subjects in college. However, if you aren't, and you're looking at those courses purely out of interest, you can really make up your mind based on how much you like the classes and if you're willing/able to work at them.