IB English HL Lit or Lang/Lit ?

kimberlytanchay

Hi I'm currently in Year 11 and I'm not sure whether to take English HL Lit or Lang/Lit for IB. 

Right now, I get A* for my literature essays and only A/B for Language.

I thought I was pretty set on Lit HL but then I heard that Lit HL is actually really hard and only the top 3% are able to get a 7 whilst Lang/Lit would much easier even though I'm not that good at Language or don't really enjoy it.  I'm wondering if Lit HL would just be extra unnecessary work especially since I'm not planning to do English-related career in the future or as a college major. 

Some advice would be really appreciated. Thanks. 

Edited by kimberlytanchay

I would say that if you don't really enjoy Language now you would be much better off taking Literature. I take Literature and I love it, yes, it is hard but if you really enjoy it you will be willing to put in the work and effort and I know plenty of people who have taken the Lang. Lit. course in hopes that it would be easier who really don't enjoy it (which means their grades suffer...). I was unsure of which one to pick but realised that Literature is much better suited to me and I have a predicted 7 so I couldn't be happier.

I do SL LangLit and think that LangLit is the easier way out if English isn't really your cup of tea. The reason being that your FOA and Written task (worth 15% and 20% respectively) can be done multiple times with the best one(s) contributing towards your final grade. FOA is textual analysis and written task is creative writing. 

Paper 1 for HL is two unseen texts which you have to write a comparative essay about (lang section), and Paper 2 involves answering a question using 2 out of the 3 texts which you have studied in class (lit section). 

In the IOC you select a text at random and have to talk about it for 10-15 mins (lit section).