Hey guys I am a Maths HL student, and recently i came up with an idea to do my Maths IA on, comparing two ways of solving Trig equations. One of the ways of solving Trig equations, is by using the trig identities and the other way is by using the De Moivre's theorem.

I was wondering if I could explain these 2 ways and different ways and i could somehow come to a conclusion on which way is better (i.e. by counting number of step required to arrive at the general solution) for what type of trig equation

I understand both methods quite well since I watched the Khan Academy Videos on them!! But I was wondering if this sort of idea was fine for a Maths HL IA. Any help would be appreciated!!

Edited by LolzDoingIB

Hey guys I am a Maths HL student, and recently i came up with an idea to do my Maths IA on, comparing two ways of solving Trig equations. One of the ways of solving Trig equations, is by using the trig identities and the other way is by using the De Moivre's theorem.

I was wondering if I could explain these 2 ways and different ways and i could somehow come to a conclusion on which way is better (i.e. by counting number of step required to arrive at the general solution) for what type of trig equation

I understand both methods quite well since I watched the Khan Academy Videos on them!! But I was wondering if this sort of idea was fine for a Maths HL IA. Any help would be appreciated!!

okay, I'm no expert in this, but as far as I understand, a good IA has to be a bit more than that. You probably looked at solving trig equations in class, and at de Moivre's theorem too (or you will at some point soon). So simply explaining two theorems/topics/etc. won't earn you all the marks. (I might be wrong, so check with someone else too). HOWEVER, explaining which one is better could be a way to go --> this could potentially earn you lots of reflection points.