Is there a lot of Math in Chemistry HL?

beth-

Hi!

I'm great at chemistry and biology and plan on studying medicine at university. I love both bio and chem and have received straight A+'s in them and if I don't study (which I usually don't, cause I love the subjects) I end up with a B+. It comes naturally to me.

However, I'm not very good at Math. I received a B in freshman math and I'm currently a sophomore (so in year 10) and I find math to be a bit challenging. Not too much, but I have to study if I want to get a B, which I don't usually do in other subjects, and if I study normally without putting in too much effort I end up getting a B, and I've never gotten an A.

I plan on taking Math Studies because a) I don't need it for university (Math SL/HL is not a requirement, even for top unis) and b) I can tell, even with just a B in freshman math, that math studies will be ridiculously easy. Like, I'll probably be able to get a 7 in it without studying too much, so Math Studies will probably just be an easy 6-7 for me, which will improve my general IB grade. If I studied my heart out, I could probably end up getting a pretty good mark, but I'd rather focus on Chem and Bio HL because I won't really be needing Math SL for uni.

I'm wondering however if biology and chemistry involves a lot of math and if studying math SL would be beneficial for me when it comes to getting top grades in those subjects. Is Math Studies sufficient for Chemistry HL or do I have to go into Math SL?

Hi I don't know about the new syllabus, but here are some math I used for May 2015 session of HL Chem
- addition, subtraction, mutiplication, division
- solving x^2 = y, for two values of x, because they simplify the quadratic. otherwise you might also need to plug in quadratic formula.
- suppsedly we were supposed to use ln and natural log for part of reaction rates
- understand how units change with +, - *, /