Hi there.

I am currently a Grade 11 student, and have taken the following subjects:

• Math HL
  • Computer Science HL
  • Physics HL
  • Economics SL
  • English - Lang. and Lit. SL
  • French Ab Initio SL

I'm planning to major in either Computer Science or Applied Math, but am not sure as to which I should pick. I want to become a developer, and am aware of the fact that Applied Math can help my programming skills immensely. In any case, I am planning to follow up with a Masters' in the other subject.

Right now, I'm targeting MIT and the other Ivy League Universities. I'd be extremely helpful if you could share some tips on getting in. Currently, I am learning Japanese and Hindi by myself, and am going to start learning French from Monday. Does becoming a polyglot somewhat enhance my chances of getting selected? And are there any other universities which you can recommend? Other universities I am considering applying to include NUS and NTU (Singapore), UCLA, UC Berkeley and the G30 University in Nagoya, Japan.

Also, while I am an Indian, I am a native speaker of English, and am right now not fluent in any other language. Do I need to take the TOEFL, or is the English SL enough to demonstrate my competence?

Guest Shrivaas Sadagopan

Thanks a lot. So, what's the difference between taking SAT II in Math A and Physics A and in Math B and in Physics B? 

Edit: You can take 4 HLs?

Edited by Shrivaas Sadagopan

lol you took the same hl's as me...