Subject Choice for Engineering in the US / Canada

Y-Heritan

I am an international student just got admission in IB year 1. Getting confused with the subjects to choose. With the little knowledge that I have about IVY colleges, I understand that for engineering, that I too am keen to get into, they prefer students with Physics, Chem and Maths as HL. However in grade 9 and 10, I did not score too well in CBSE, primarily due to the fact that CBSE is more of a rote learning and I somehow I didn't like the pedagogy. Concepts, though were very clear and interesting. Please advise if following subject choice would be ok for me and not suicidal. I am ready to go all out and work very hard in these below mentioned subjects:

1. English SL

2. Hindi SL

3. Business Management SL or HL?

4. Physics HL

5. Chemistry SL or HL?

6. Mathematics SL or HL?

Please help me choose the ones with '?'

The requirements depend on the uni you want to go to. If you're aiming for Ivy, take business management at SL and physics, chem and math at HL. For other unis you're considering, look at their specific requirements and go from there because some may only need math/chem/physics at SL. Sometimes, it's not necessary to take HL math if the uni you're going to doesn't require it or if you're not too fond of math (you have to really like math to go into math HL). You can always contact admissions if you have any questions.

How you do in grade 9 and grade 10 doesn't necessarily reflect how you're going to do in IB. You don't need that much of a foundation to do well because the teachers will start you off fresh and if you're willing to put the time into it, then you're good to go (Y) 

Good luck and welcome to IB1 (kind of) (Y) 

• Like 1