Physics extended essay

Alexia

Hey guy!

It's my first year of IB and I need a topic for my physics extended essay.

I though of focusing on a solar boat and discussing its efficiency and speed.

Is it a good Idea. Of not could you give more suggestions

Thanks

Your topic is more about engineering than pure physics - you will only be able to write about the boat, or the set of components that you have tested and can't draw any general conclusions. Yes, it will require physical knowledge to perform, but will not be on physics.

But if you're interested in solar boats, they involve a lot of physical phenomena which you can focus on. From aerodynamics (and hydrodynamics), through various propelling systems and steering to power generation and transmission. This all is obviously too much to fit in even three EEs, but these and many more aspects alone can form a good essay.

We can't give you a topic for your EE but the general advice from me is: examine a phenomenon, not a product.

Edited by Slovakov
  • Like 3

• 3 weeks later...

Hey guy!

It's my first year of IB and I need a topic for my physics extended essay.

I though of focusing on a solar boat and discussing its efficiency and speed.

Is it a good Idea. Of not could you give more suggestions

Thanks

if you're still thinking about a topic for ee, i would recommend you not to do it in physics

on average, people only get C's on a natural science ee and this would hurt your overall score if you're really dependent on the bonus points

unless your topic is really good (which right now... isnt) and you're like a genius 

• 3 months later...