Maths Studies or SL for completely unrelated course?

joeykmt

Hi

I'm a first year IB student taking:

Art HL

English Lit HL

Physics HL

Maths SL

History SL

French SL

There are three potential subjects I want to study at university: Art History, Philosophy and Fine Art.

I'm predicted 43-45 points at the moment - but I was wondering do Universities care about Maths if it's not at all related to your course?

It's not that I find maths difficult, rather are teacher sets us 2-3 hours of repetitive questions every other day, time I'd rather spend reading or doing something else. I'm predicted a 6 or 7, but it's the work load our teacher puts on us that is just time wasted for me.

So will the top universities look down on Maths Studies when it's not related at all to the course? (Art History at Cambridge, Fine Art at Ruskin, Art History and Philosophy at UCL)

Please no answers such as if you find it easy do it - That's not the point, I'm asking about University Points of View. Also with Physics I talked to my teacher who said the Mathematics wouldn't be a problem if I changed to Studies as he knows I'm more than capable of doing it. (I chose Physics out of interest and enjoying the teacher, more so than 'needing' it in the future)

Thank you!

Before taking studies, I researched about this issue A LOT. What I can say is that it totally depends on the university. Some universities, according to their websites (like Edinburgh) requires Maths SL even for unrelated courses like Politics, whereas most of the UK universities don't care. If you cannot find relevant info on their website, I would advise you to contact the admissions office via e-mail.