Right now I am taking English B and Self Taught Chinese. However, it seems like many universities require English A. I was in English SL initially, and my English teacher said I would likely to get a 4 or 5 (I got 86% as converted mark on my fall term report card), but it always takes me triple time working on an essay to get the same mark as my Canadian friends. In English B, my teacher said I would probably get a 7. However, I have just heard about how difficult Self Taught Chinese would be even for me who finished grade 9 in China. What should I do? Stay in English B and count on my Chinese? Or switch back to English SL?

I think you should take English A SL. I had friends who did Chinese A SL. They were not self taught and were also in China up till 9th grade and they are always talking about how difficult Chinese A is. The grade boundary for Chinese A is insanely high, which could mean either they have high expectations or they're really lenient with marking. I don't know which though. My friends said they're quite lenient with marking, but the 7 rate in my school has been only about 50%. But then again, if you're a very strong literature student, I think you'll be fine with Chinese A. I have a friend who's really good in Chinese Literature and he just coasted through Chinese A, took English B and got 7 for both.

I don't think universities need English A per se; I think it's more like you need proof of English proficiency, which you can demonstrate through other tests, so if English A is much more difficult for you than Chinese A, just do English B.