Math R

Max Herems

Hi, I'm a student in year two of the program. We got back our math results over the summer, (so it's been a while since then), but I am still having trouble getting over my results.

You see, I was predicted a level seven in math last year. I always maintained a mid-low 90 and I got 17/20 on both my portfolios. I felt pretty set, and confident about getting that final seven in math.

However, I failed. I ended up with a six. Worst of all, most of the people around me, who were -not to seem condescending in anyway- much worse at math than I was (I was always the guy they came to for help) ended up with sevens. That's two 98s on their belts, to bring to university.

I received a 95. It's not a low mark, but not really amazing or exceptional. It is easily attainable at the regular level. One of the main reasons I feel so bad about this is that math was my best subject. And now there's nothing I can do to change it. Biology, chemistry and english are are much harder to get sevens in, and the way this year has progressed so far in terms of my grades isn't helping. It's as if since I got the six in math, all my marks started spiralling downwards.

I feel like such a jealous loser writing this, but I need people to talk about it with. Has this happened to anyone else? Is 95 still high enough in Canada to get into good universities and good programs (e.g. Waterloo mech eng, McGill life sci, etc.) ? So many people around me are getting high 90s -even people I'd never expected- so I'm beginning to lose hope in myself.

I know that this is a stupid thread. I know it's pathetic. But I'd really like to have some people to to talk to about this.