Should I take IB Music

GemmaJade

Hi, I am in my first year of IB in Japan but my parents have told me we are moving to thailand and my subjects don't match up so I am repeating the next year. When I chose my subjects this year I didn't enjoy them very much and I think it makes a difference if you enjoy what you are doing I really regret not taking music so I want to take it at HL next year.

but

I don't think I am experienced enough, it's not like I have never performed singing before but never solo and my voice still needs a lot of improvement. I can obviously read music but I don't have much knowledge in Music theory. I really want to do it but is it possible? Will the music theory I need be taught to me? My friends in Music insist I will be fine but I don't know.

I don't know how it is with music, but in my school there are visual arts, and the most important thing in them is to make progress, work and be able to talk about your wors, artistic experiences, history of art etc., not to be technically perfect. In v.a. you have to do your own research on history of art. Music can be similar. Both v.a. and music are group 6 subjects after all.

• Like 1

In my school, since it is the first year we had the IB program, the band kids were forced to take IB band and I can tell you from personal experience, that you most likely will have to learn music theory which was torture on a whiteboard. Unless you are the music type, take IB psychology.

I personally don't take IB Music, but someone I know who does said that IB Music HL isn’t like the other classes because it’s more creative and can be a real stress outlet from all your other IB courses. So you'll most likely enjoy this class since you like what you're doing. Luckily I had a discussion with her on the subject recently, and this is what she had to say.