Literally being torn because I cannot decide

So I have been a French student since eighth grade and I am bilingual before taking French. I know Mandarin, I am literate in it as in I can read and write in it. But I have not taken the Mandarin course before. So a couple days ago I asked to be assessed by the IB Mandarin teacher and I got accepted into SL Mandarin.

My friends and my current French teacher isn't too thrilled about this. Most of my friends are doing French and only two of them are doing Mandarin SL. I have heard from the upper grade people that if I take French SL (as that is my only option), the highest mark I can get is a 5. I really love French but I don't want my diploma grades to suffer.

Currently, I'm thinking about doing Mandarin in IB and French 11 in the summer for the credit because I don't want to give up on learning it. I know I'll have a spare block in Grade 12 so if they have a French 12 class then, then I'll take it in school with my friends who are not in IB.

Please give an opinion of what I should do, course selection is coming up soon and I need to decide quick.

Thank you.

Oh and, the last time I checked my grade for French it was 79% which is a B in my province.

EDIT: I noticed that my bilingual statement wasn't too clear. To clarify, I am bilingual in both English and Chinese. French is my third language!

Edited by votreami

Well, I don't know much about French and Mandarin SL considering I take neither, but I can try and give you some advice. Firstly, I think it is unrealistic to say that you cannot get above a 5 in French, because some people clearly get 6s and 7s - however, it might just be a general trend in your area. So don't let what you've heard about other people's marks disturb you too much.