Chemistry or History?

mepilokisazt

Hello. I am a sophomore in MYP and I have to think about classes for next year. I've always thought I would do HL Physics, Maths, Psychology, and English and SL Japanese and History. However, I recently found out that my school will allow me to take Psychology in the place of history. If I did that, I would do SL English and change my sixth subject to HL Chemistry. I am trying to decide which plan would be better for me. On one hand, I don't particularly like history, but I really liked chemistry. Plus, my chemistry teacher really liked me and wants me to take IB Chemistry. In her words, "I don't recommend double sciences to everybody, but I know you can do it." On the other hand, I have already taken chemistry. I like the idea of a well-rounded education, which history would provide to me. Also, I've heard that taking three technical courses at HL (Chemistry, Psychology, and Physics) would be suicide, especially combined with HL Maths. Some input here would be helpful. Should I go for my interest in broad education and not rocking the educational boat, or should I go for my interest in Chemistry? I might also mention that I find history fascinating in its own way.

Okay, my recommendation is that you should take chemistry, and then do Chem/Physics/Psych/Maths HL and English/Japanese SL to begin with.

1. Double sciences isn't impossible, many people can take it. Especially if you like science, double science is probably wiser than double humanities, particularly if you're not fond of memorising However, as you have noted, physics/chem HL is going to be challenging. However, it seems that this is plausible - leading me on to reason 2...

2. You like chemistry and you seem to be quite good at it. And a teacher also agrees, which is usually a good sign. :) Would this chem teacher be taking you for IB chem?