After taking one year of visual arts HL, can i switch to visual arts SL?

kaay

I am a senior IB student, and last year I took the first year of visual arts HL, but this year I do not want to take art because it prevents me from staying in orchestra because of class scheduling. I really want to drop this second year of visual arts, and be considered a visual art SL student without taking the class... Then at the end of year do the showcase and get the grade. I know it sounds silly, but is it possible?! I cannot give up orchestra..

I guess that depends on whether you are taking the full IB diploma, in which case you would have to find another HL if you are taking 3 HLs at the moment and also the willingness of your teachers/ Ib coordinator to let you switch.

I don't take IB art but from what I've read the only real difference is the quantity and depth of work you're expected to produce.

http://ibman2001.tripod.com/id95.html

http://www.haef.gr/gr/pcl/ib/visual_arts.pdf

As a rule of thumb, it's usually easier to switch from HL to SL rather than the other way. Don't give up orchestra.

I am a senior IB student, and last year I took the first year of visual arts HL, but this year I do not want to take art because it prevents me from staying in orchestra because of class scheduling. I really want to drop this second year of visual arts, and be considered a visual art SL student without taking the class... Then at the end of year do the showcase and get the grade. I know it sounds silly, but is it possible?! I cannot give up orchestra..

Exactly what Chocolate Drops said!

I don't see how you can be a Visual art student without taking the class. Depending on your school's regulation to the DP program, perhaps it may be possible that way but in most schools, I do not think it is possible. I say, seek advice from your IB coordinator or fellow teachers.