French Tutoring Necessary? Grade 9 Pre - IB

oohwill

Greetings fellow forum members!

I'm currently a grade 8 student joining the Grade 9 Pre-IB Program this September, and I have a question both my family and I are having trouble answering.

My french mark for grade 8 were:

Oral: 85%

Reading: 85%

Writing: 92%

And I was wondering if I should continue my tutoring for French, my tutor has a very good reputation and that leads to a big price. My mom says it is worth it but my dad says that I should go and learn French when in school. I just wanted to get another opinion from someone with experience with the Pre-IB/IB Program.

Should I just use it as a starting point and discontinue it later on? or go through with it all throughout?

I'm currently paying $235/month (1.5 Hours/ week).

Here are some extra information:

School: St. Francis Xavier SS

Average for Grade 8: 91%

I want to become a doctor (Surgeon).

Your opinions are much needed! Thank you!

P.S: I'm sorry if I did something wrong with the thread, I'm still trying to get used to everything. (New Member) :blowkiss:

Edited by Willstuhh

Gosh, you posted all wrong. ALL WRONG. You aren't allowed to use digits when writing numbers :no: it messes up the system :sadnod: You've also overdone it on the smileys. (one is the limit, only VIPs and supervisors can use more).

Now that is out of the way, I can address your post. I think it'd be better for you to pick it up later in the year if you find yourself having trouble with French because your marks are good now. Plus, you can do well without a tutor if you study well.

Good luck :)