Are there any oxbridge scholarships / financial aid programs for European IB students?

norsul

I am a good student I think with some work I would even be eligible to study at Oxford / Cambridge, but the problem is that I can't afford to pay the amount that they demand. So I started looking for scholarships / financial aid programs, but I didn't find any. The closest thing I've found is the student loan, which I really wouldn't like to take. Then I decided that maybe there are smarter people out here who have already found the answer to my question, and came here :D. So, do you know any oxbridge scholarships / financial aid programs for European IB students? scholarships / financial aid programs for European (I'm from Finland) IB students? Or do you know for a fact that such things do not exist?

Scholarships and so on are extremely few and far between - especially for UK and other EU members. The vast, vast majority of people are expected to take on the loans. There are more scholarships available for those who must pay the higher fees (i.e. non-EU international students), although these are also not that common. Some Universities will offer hardship loans and bursaries if you truly cannot afford to pay after having taken out the loan, but to be honest the probability of picking up money in any way other than taking on debt at least to the extent of the student loan is unlikely.

The student loans are horrible and nobody really wants to take it, but for most people whose parents cannot pay/who do not have money to pay themselves, they do. The government consider the student loan equivalent to giving everybody access, in some warped way. I'm casually accruing my own student debt along with pretty much every other person I know who aren't being indulged by rich parents! :(