Math SL/HL for CompSci?

KaranKanwar

Hi,

Sorry to add another SL/HL topic to the forums, but I'm quite confused!

I'm not incredibly good at math, I'm relatively average - yet I plan on studying computer science at University, and I have been a programmer in languages that require a mathematical/pragmatic mindset since I was 10 years old, I'm now 15, yay.

My worry, is that I plan to apply to a university, that kinda really prefers Math HL (MIT), and Math is literally the only subject in which I don't have an A in, at the moment. Though I now have a tutor (started last week) and am redoing my entire textbook, so hopefully that will change with practice.

Assuming I take Math SL, and get a high grade, versus taking Math HL and get a low-average, would it make more sense to take SL or HL if I wanted to get in to a university exactly like MIT?

The way I see it right now [from assumption]:

HL = Low/Average grade, credit for putting in the effort, tried my best

SL = High grade, it's said to be far easier than HL, It's still SL.

Also, is Math HL actually that hard? It seems to be pretty exaggerated at my school, on these forums, and everywhere! haha.

Thank you! :D

well you said you can't get an A but you still think people exaggerate its difficulty? :blink: it is indeed difficult, man. have you done a past paper? try one and see the types of questions that come up.

I've applied for Computer Science too to universities in the UK and all of them require Maths HL. if you want you can check the spoiler in my sig, they all want a 7 or a 6 in Maths HL. I know you intend to go to the US where they don't particularly require you to take certain IB subjects, but I still think that your IB subjects don't only have to fulfill your future uni requirements BUT also give you enough background knowledge to excel at uni.