'Atonement' by Ian McEwan

MsAbsinthe21

I studied Atonement for English HL as well, it's my favourite book from the ones we read up to now.

I am actually doing my IOP on the importance of letters (as a structural motif) in Atonement, and my IOP is in one week time. Now I have a question, and I hope somebody can help me. I was going to make a point on how the letter that Briony receives from the Horizon in reply to 'Two Figures by a Fountain' leads to Briony writing her atonement, but today I started questioning myself: am I making a correct statement or does what I am saying make no sense at all? Would be great if someone could give me their opinion!

She's not unreliable in the sense that she tells events with a purposeful bias - even the title suggests a certain adherence to the truth in terms of the task she sets for herself. And she basically admits which parts of her narrative are true and which are imagined.

One of the main themes of the novel, of course, is the reality/fiction divide - within the frame parts of the story are true, and parts aren't, and the additional layer of irony, of course, comes from the knowledge that the whole novel is actually fiction. In a sense a new way to look at the essentially hackneyed theme of the redemptive power of literature (etc).

I think calling her an unreliable narrator, though, would be a little simplistic, in view of the novel as a whole.

• 2 weeks later...