Prestigious uni.. or not.

Nelourir

Hi everyone,

I'm new to the forums but I thought it'd be as good a way to find opinions as any.

I'm in my second year and I'm pretty sure I will study theoretical physics in uni after the IB. I don't know how well I'll be doing (in uni) but I'm kind of thinking of getting a PhD altogether seeing as IB already ruined my life...

My question is: (assuming I don't have any scholarships) should I pay less and enter a less prestigious (I say prestigious because I'm not entirely convinced on their academic superiority) university and finish my Bachelor/Honours/Master there then try to get into a 'better' uni for a PhD? Should I do my whole undergraduate and postgraduate education at one of those prestigious unis? Or do you think that in the end which uni you went to doesn't matter...

Thanks for your answers.

Edited by Nelourir

For most subjects, it doesn't really matter where you do your undergraduate studies. This is because the only thing you'll be doing at the undergraduate level is taking courses, listening to lectures, completing problem sets and taking exams. And you'll get good and bad lecturers everywhere, so more going to more prestigious universities won't do you much good. Now of course there are certain universities that are world known for some courses, like Cambridge for Mathematics, for example. Getting a degree in Mathematics from Cambridge is respectable, but in no way much better than any other university.

Now for graduate studies, you would want to go to a place where you can work with great people in your field. But even then, you might find that you'll end up going to an overall less prestigious university, but one that is great for your field.

• Like 1