To do, or not to do. that is the question.

J.w. Mutin

Hi I am a student in the US, and will be a Junior next year. I really dont know if i should go into the IB programme or not. Our school just got the programme last year, and I am still not completely sure if i should do it or not. This is my current schedule this year, (not IB).

Algebra II Honors

Chemistry CP

Advanced Art

Modern World History AP

English 10 Honors

AP US Government

French II.

So, I make A's in Modern World, Chemistry, Art, and English, and B's in all of my other courses. (If you are from a different country that uses different terms, please reply and i can fill you in). The question is if i should do IB next year or not. Honestly the only thing that would be holding me back is French, because I would have to take Spanish ab initio in IB. I really dont mind taking this as an SL, but i really love French at the same time, and would like to become fluent in it. I am trying to get my French grade up to an A, and if that happens I am going to ask her to let me study French III over the summer and take French B SL. I am still not sure if she would let me do this because in all honesty, I am not very good at memorization. Here is my lineup for IB next year. (if i do it).

Math Studies SL

Physics SL

Art HL

History of the Americas HL

English HL

Spanish ab initio SL (or maybe French SL)

My school also offers AP courses (obviously) the only problem is that i HATED the AP classes that i was in this year. The teachers did not tell us anything and instead expected us to study for the test on our own. All of the facts in these courses are just pure memorization. I hear that the IB is different, in that you learn from your teachers, and they also teach you how to think, answer questions, and just be a better student in general. Is this true? If you have any help, or comments please post a comment. Thank You!!!