St. Andrews: Arabic & International Relations

stylusdef

I graduated from IB in May 2010 with a diploma of 39 points. Now I want to apply to universities in the UK to study Arabic and International Relations.

I really want to get into St Andrews but I'm doubtful as to whether they will accept me. The minimum requirement for Arabic-IR is 38 points (only because IR is so popular; other joint honours with Arabic require around 36) so I'm just above the limit. My personal statement will not be filled with stories about fancy extracurricular activities, but I'm sure that my English teacher can write a fantastic reference about my language skills.

It's too bad that you can't write different personal statements for different courses. If I choose to apply to other courses than Arabic-IR, say Arabic-Politics, then I will not be able to explain specifically why I want to study IR. I guess I just have to leave that aside unless I choose to go all in on the Arabic-IR course at St Andrews (which is probably unwise).

What do you think about my chances to get into Arabic-IR at St Andrews? I studied three languages in IB: HL Swedish A1 (6), HL English B (7) and SL Spanish Ab Initio (7). My social science was HL History of the Americas where I got a 6. Please help!

Check the requirements for what level of the language you need to know before you start applying. Otherwise I don't see any reason why you shouldn't get accepted. As you've taken a gap year you'll need to mention something about what you've been doing since you graduate, they don't like it when students take a year off just because.

St. Andrews will understand that you're applying to 5 unis, so if you write a PS why you'd like to do IR only and not the Arabic, then they're presume you're applying to general IR courses.