good at Math = good at Music?

dessskris

are you good at Math? or Music? both, or even neither?  

48 members have voted

1. 1. Which one are you?

• I am good at both Math and Music
    • I am good at Math, but I am not good at Music
    • I am not good at Math, but I am good at Music
    • I am not good at both Math and Music

Adapted from The Correlation Between Music and Math: A Neurobiology Perspective

By: Cindy Zhan

I remember the first time I heard the statement "Did you know that listening to classical music enhances your mathematical abilities?" I was both intrigued and excited, intrigued because I did not understand how music and math, two seemingly unrelated subject could possibly affect each other. I was also excited because I began to view classical music as some kind of magical potion that would transform my math skills from decent to extraordinary.

It turns out that there is much evidence that supports the positive effects of music on one's ability to do math. Most research shows that when children are trained in music at a young age, they tend to improve in their math skills. The surprising thing in this research is not that music as a whole is enhancing math skills. It is certain aspects of music that are affecting mathematics ability in a big way. Studies done mostly in children of young age show that their academic performance increases after a certain period of music education and training. One particular study published in the journal 'Nature' showed that when groups of first graders were given music instruction that emphasized sequential skill development and musical games involving rhythmn and pitch, after six months, the students scored significantly better in math than students in groups that received traditional music instruction.