Economics in Sweden

nicxl

Hi,

I'm interested in studying Economics at a Swedish university and I was wondering if there are any Economics programmes taught in English. I might be able to study in Swedish as well since, like all Finns, I studied Swedish for 4 years before the IB and I think my skills are quite good. I know it is very rare in Sweden to have whole undergraduate programmes in English but it would obviously be much easier since I've already been through the IB.

Furthermore, the problem with Swedish is that I have no formal qualifications as a proof of my Swedish skills. (Do they arrange some sort of Swedish exams, then?) I could of course attend a pre-university Swedish course if it is required but that would make things a bit more complicated in terms of financing my living and all. Apart from the Swedish part, I think my IB results are sufficient for entry into an Economics programme in Sweden.

So, in a nutshell, do you know of any Economics programmes in English, and if not, which universities with programmes taught in Swedish would you recommend? What about the Swedish requirements?

Hey there!

I am stuying IB write now in Sweden! The TSIUS test is one way to get qualification another way is to take a course Stockholm University and Uppsala both offer a course for those that have prior knowledge in Swedish and need qualification. I am sure that economics is offered in English somewhere,just google that. Also, IB grades are cpnverted into Swedish marks.I think a scale can be found at vhs.se.

Lycka till!

I don't know about any undergraduate programme taught in English, but it might exist somewhere. I suggest you check Stockholm School of economics (Handels) which is one of the best economics universities, I'm told. But I think you should aim for a Swedish one, think about how your language skills will improve! Check also Uppsala University, it's good and has several programmes in all sorts of areas.