Writing help

Higaaa!!

Hi, I'm new to this site and really wish I had found this earlier in the year, but I figured I'd make use of it at least somewhat this year :)

Anyways, I'm an HA1 student this year and I'm not really sure what formal name of our assignment is because our teacher and the entire class has called it "The Beast" all year. I guess maybe from looking on here that Historical Investigation would be the proper term? Its a 3500-4000 word research paper.

The due date is 5/12/10, and so I'm trying to fine tune everything because its worth a lot of points. But right now I'm having trouble with my intro and I just wanted to see if I could get some help with it?

"In 1766, The Royal Society (a learned society for science and the improvement of natural knowledge) hired James Cook to travel the Pacific Ocean in order to observe and record the transit of Venus across the Sun. During this voyage Cook discovered the Possession Islands and upon his return to Britain was promoted to Commander and commissioned to search for the mythical Terra Australias (the hypothesized continent that was prominent on historical maps in the 18th century) because his first voyage had proven that New Zealand was not connected to a larger land mass in the south of which they suspected to be Terra Australias. On October 1 1773, Cook and his crew arrived at Tonga where Cook exclaimed “I thought I was transported into one of the most fertile plains of Europe... Nature assisted by a little art, nowhere appears in a more flourishing state than at this isle”. Cook and his crew sailed away a week later, continuing in their search of the Terra Australias, but the beauty and rich fertility of the polynesian isles would prompt the necessity of a third voyage."

Thats what I have so far, so any help would be appreciated.

Also, my research question is "How did the missionaries impact the cultural identity of Hawaii?"

Thanks.