Philosophy Essays

ceparanaIB

Hey,

I'm in my first year of IB and I've been having problems with writing my political philosophy essays. For example I was just asked to write this essay: "does society value liberty and equality in equal measure?" when I got it back my teacher said that I got a 4.

Does anyone have any suggestions or pointers?

The thing with philosophy is that the approach to essays kinda depends on exactly what you know beforehand... however, my main suggestions for how to answer a question like that would be that you first identify a line of argument. It doesn't have to be that great, but some sort of stance on the question which you uphold throughout the rest of your essay. With this question, if it were me, the thought which instantly occurs in my mind is that of all the instances of liberty and equality we see in society, in my opinion we don't value them much at all until they're gone.

From whatever line of argument you think of -- whether it's what I said or that liberty is more highly valued or whatever -- firstly start by an introduction with some definitions to lay out the parameters of the situation. Briefly: what society is, what liberty is (in society), what equality is (in society) and what you get out of the word 'value'. Then a sentence to outline your main strand of issue followed by a lead in to your strand of argument (e.g. "The question of whether society values the two or not is difficult, largely because in history [example of anything.. people not voting in the present day etc etc to make your point] these two are valued the most when people do not have them" ... "In order to approach this I feel that the key issue is defining what exactly we mean by the word value...") and you're off :')