Freaking out

Maurice Ravel

Hello again,

I learned from my suspension, so all hostilities aside...

Our school has a number of teachers that are simply not qualified for the job. For instance, last semester, I did bio and I got converted from an 81 to an 86. This semester, another biology teacher (grade eleven) converted the same mark to a friggin 96!

I am determined to move to the US for undergrad and med school, but in Canada, my GPA fluctuated between 94% to 88% because I was in so many different programs within the course of 3 years. According to the Canadian criteria, I am a straight A student with one small B on the side (phys ed...refused to do push-ups, lol). I am going to get 7's on my French and math exams and a combination of 6 and 7 predicted scores.

Now, which scores are good universities going to look at? IB predicted scores or my transcript?

I will have three fantastic recommendation forms (I mean it) along with good essays and a 2200+ SAT score. The thing is that I moved to Canada in grade nine with a pathetic background in English. I learned and progressed so fast that practically all teachers at school know me. However, my transcript is going to be very ugly in comparison. It's still A's, but there are applicants with 99% GPAs from lesser schools in Canada. My counsellor,however, did say that she would send our school's rankings to render the competition fair and our school does have a very high IB average.

I'm still not convinced. By the way, I am not saying I want to get into Princeton or anything! I just want to get into UC San Diego, LA, Berkeley or Vanderbilt.

I swim and play the piano on a competitive level. Next year, I will also enroll in Young Artists Performance Academy, a very selective extension of the Glenn Gould School and RCM for junior and senior high school kids. I don't know if that's going to help though. I have nice supplemental material (which they're prolly going to dump in the trash).