Maths degree without HL Physics

typewriter

Hi,

Sorry if this is in the wrong forum, I couldn't find a better one to post it on. I'm a UK student taking the IB next year, and my HL subjects are Maths, Chem and Biology. I'm seriously considering taking Physics instead of Biology, because 1) I'm kind of starting to appreciate it, and 2) I'm not sure whether my chances of getting into a good university to study Maths would be decreased if I didn't have Physics.

Second question... How do Biology and Physics compare? Is there a lot more content to learn for Biology? How maths-based is the Physics course? Any other thoguhts would be helpful.

Thanks. :D

Edited by typewriter

I would say both Physics and Biology are quite demanding as both require some memorising, but I agree that you really have to understand physics to be good in it.

As with your chances being decreased when you want to go into the university, it of course depends on the university itself. But it is true that many math students take physics as well.

You could of course take all three science subjects, but for that, you would have to take seven subjects. When you think that you can cope with that, and when you are good in time management, that would be also worth a try.

Edited by hermine0817