Histroy EE - Nigerian Civil War - Help on RQ

Farouk²

Hello. I'm new to this :no: , and I was wondering If I could get a little help on a Research Question.

My topic is on The political causes of the Nigerian Civil War, 1967-1970.

I'm currently doing some research, and one major aspect f the causes of the war spreads from ethical conflicts between thee tribal groups in Nigeria; the Yorubas, Ibos, and Hausa-Fulani, among the secession of The Republic of Biafra.

So far, I came up with one research question based on this:

How did the ethical conflicts between the Hausa- Fulani, Yoruba, and Ibo Tribal groups contribute to the Nigerian Civil War?

I'm mostly sure this is kind of broad, but this is my first attempt at an RQ. I really suggestions and advice soon on this one, whether or not its good, and if it is, how to improve on it.

Thanks for your help. guys!

I think you mean "ethnic" conflicts and not "ethical". Unless the civil war started as a result of people arguing over morals?

I think your question sounds a little narrative. It seems like you would only write about the causes, which is descriptive and provides almost nothing to analyze.

What is another reason for the Nigerian civil war starting? Economic hardship? Military dictatorship? Find another important reason and you could phrase your question like this "To what extent was ethnic conflict between the Hausa- Fulani, Yoruba, and Ibo Tribal groups more important than _________ in starting the Nigerian civil war of 1967-1970?" That way, you have 2 aspects to analyze, contrast and compare. You will also be able to find arguments for which aspect was more important according to historians. If you have trouble finding resources, you should ask your school to subscribe to JSTOR, as they have millions of academic journals and papers on anything.

My local public library subscribes to JSTOR...it was amazing for my own EE.