Subjects Workload Query

Rish1

Hello! I’m a student who has just finished year 11 and will be starting diploma in August. I’m really concerned about my subject choice. I normally get above 6 for my MYP assessments but I know how much more difficult DP is.

The subjects I have taken are:

HL Math AA, HL Physics, HL Art and HL English Lang Lit, SL Economics and Chinese Ab Inito

I’m super unsure about having four higher levels. Originally I thought that my mix of subjects was okay but having spoken to others, they think that its not a good idea. It’s high risk low reward.

Thoughts? Tips? Should I switch now before it’s too late?

Thank you :)

HL Math AA and HL Art are both time consuming subjects and I would not recommend taking both. Usually people who finish with 4 HLs because they are unsure of university requirements or what they will be doing. So for example a slightly more sensible combo is HL Economics with SL Art. Having said that, about 15% of my graduating class (about 10 out of 70) took Computer Science as a 7th subject, along with HL Math, Chemistry and Literature, so yours is not as risky as people may make it out to be. 

I am not familiar with Group 6 subjects in general, but I think it would be much better to take Art at SL because 1) it generally does not make you stand out in university applications and 2) SL is easier than HL and Art SL can be an opportunity to relax. IB can be quite stress at times (all the time) so I fully understand having an art class. I would not exactly characterize the overall combination as high risk low reward, but if SL Art is offered then take that instead.