DP subjects for bioengineering

Azhar

Hi!

I am struggling with subject choice for DP. I am going to take Math, Bio and Physics for Hl and Russian, English, ITGS for Sl.

Should I take both Bio and Physics or only one of them for bioengineering? I am 100% sure that having math and two sciences is too hard for me. Which subject should I take then, bio or physics. 

I would be grateful if you would help me <3

Hi! I’m studying biomedical engineering right now (which is kinda similar to bioengineering) so maybe I can help.

I strongly encourage you to look into where you want to study and what the course requirements to get in are. They can vary from around the world so it’s good to be prepared!

You will almost definitely need Physics and Math for engineering, so it’s good that you have it. I’ve also seen Chem AND Bio being really important for bioengineering, depending on the university.

You will basically HAVE to take 2 science and math for engineering. That’s just what’s required to get in and succeed in university. If you think IB is too hard with 2 science and math, then you will find engineering even harder. If you work hard and stay on top of your classes you can do really well!

51 minutes ago, VeronicaG said:

Hi! I’m studying biomedical engineering right now (which is kinda similar to bioengineering) so maybe I can help.

I strongly encourage you to look into where you want to study and what the course requirements to get in are. They can vary from around the world so it’s good to be prepared!

You will almost definitely need Physics and Math for engineering, so it’s good that you have it. I’ve also seen Chem AND Bio being really important for bioengineering, depending on the university.