HL Biology grades are decreasing! HELP

abelkoontz

I'm in my second year of IB and am currently getting straight 5's in bio. I don't even know what happened but last year I got one 4 and the rest were straight 6's. Even though I study, I simply just don't know whats going on. My predicted grade is really affected by this. I don't know what to do and my teacher is no help. 

You have to understand what is happening in the chapter before memorising it. If you don't understand something, ask a friend/teacher or even watch some videos. Then you can memorise the content. Mind-maps and flashcards are easy ways to do this. Also, do a lot of practice papers and papers from Question Bank. If you get a question wrong, look at the mark scheme and copy down the answer so you won't get it wrong again if a same/similar question appears.

39 minutes ago, Recycle Bin said:

You have to understand what is happening in the chapter before memorising it. If you don't understand something, ask a friend/teacher or even watch some videos. Then you can memorise the content. Mind-maps and flashcards are easy ways to do this. Also, do a lot of practice papers and papers from Question Bank. If you get a question wrong, look at the mark scheme and copy down the answer so you won't get it wrong again if a same/similar question appears.

Practice papers for Biology aren't as helpful as for Chemistry/Physics. It's really just about knowing your content as there isn't any required skills you have to hone in IB Biology, other than being organized in writing. And with the new syllabus, a good portion of questions from past papers have become obsolete. I'd argue you can get a solid 7 in a full IB Biology exam after having just practiced one set of all the papers, provided you have complete knowledge of the syllabus.