Question help

Scienuk

Hello there!

I'm currently an IB1 Chemistry student who has his finals fast-approaching, so I would appreciate it if you could answer the following question with explanation.

Answers:

3. B

9. C

15. B

Thanks,

Screen Shot 2016-05-08 at 18.44.13.png

Screen Shot 2016-05-08 at 18.43.10.png

Screen Shot 2016-05-08 at 21.54.17.png

Edited by Scienuk

3. If you choose D you have to remember that D is not an ionic compound and you don't get chloride ions. If the question were short answer then you would have to convert to a proper unit. But on the unit test, you can just use mol•dm-3cm3 to compare. A has 1, B has 1.2 * 2 = 2.4, C has 2.1. On a short answer you would have to convert 1cm3 = 0.001 dm3 and get 0.01, 0.024, 0.021 instead.
9. Dative bond means one of the "atom" supplies both electrons in a bond.A do not react. B forms 1,2-dichloroethane (but you have to have taken organic chemistry to know this), which does not have dative bonds. C is an acid base reaction, and we get NH4F (again you have to know about acid/base reactions), and there is a dative bond between the N nucleus and the H that was previously from HF. D also do not react because chlorine gas is not strong enough to displace fluoride ions. 
15. You need the enthalpy of vaporization values for II. Bond enthalpy is only for gaseous species. 

Definitely revisit #9 when you learn about organic chemistry and acid/base reactions. But by year one you should know how to do #3 and #15.

• Like 1

30 minutes ago, kw0573 said:

3. If you choose D you have to remember that D is not an ionic compound and you don't get chloride ions. If the question were short answer then you would have to convert to a proper unit. But on the unit test, you can just use mol•dm-3cm3 to compare. A has 1, B has 1.2 * 2 = 2.4, C has 2.1. On a short answer you would have to convert 1cm3 = 0.001 dm3 and get 0.01, 0.024, 0.021 instead.