Already fluent in language B?

beth-

Basically: I studied German at my middle school and freshman year, now I'm in the pre-IB and have to pick a second language. This school does not offer AB initio nor do they offer German. I've spoken to my coordinator and she says that I have two choices; study AB initio (as in, start studying a new language) during my pre-IB year (for example, Mandarin, or continue with German during the pre-IB), but then I would have to study either Swedish or English at Language B, or I could go straight into sophomore Spanish or French, study my heart out for a year and then go into language B for French or Spanish.

I'm a native Swedish speaker and got an A- in Swedish my freshman year. I'm also a native English speaker and got an A+ in English my freshman year. 

How hard is language B? Do you think it's possible to study Spanish or do I have to study Swedish/English?

Edited by beth-

i speak spanish and im also fluent in english and german. in my opinion, German is way harder than spanish. and i've been told this from a lot of german people. My school does exchange programs and they are always around, they learn easily, i think if you put a little effort in it, it'd be easy.

• Like 1

If you're fluent in a language then you shouldn't be taking it at B level. B languages are meant for people LEARNING a language, not for people already fluent in a language or trying to get a free 7. When you do this, you make it unfair for the people who aren't fluent, making it harder for them to do well and pushing the boundaries up to extremely high levels (I believe it's around an 88% to get a 7 in Spanish because of all the people taking it already fluent in the language). However, if your school doesn't care, then if you don't want to learn a new language then you can just go take a language you're fluent in since there's nothing the IBO can really do about it if your school lets you take it.