Is Biology Necessary?

TDgen47@IB

Hi,

I want to pursue either engineering or medicine (or Bsc) after IB. As such I want to have chosen the right subjects that will keep all 3 of my options open. I am not interested in applying for an irregular diploma. I am looking to pursue the aforementioned courses in renowned universities of USA, Australia, Canada and Europe (specifically Denmark). If there is one thing in my life I'm sure about, its that I DON'T want to pursue a course in England. 

This is my current subject combo:

1) English lit lang HL

2) Danish B SL (probably changing to self taught)

3) Economics SL

4) Physics HL

5) Chemistry HL

6) Math HL

At the moment I have taken Biology SL as well just to be on the safe side (not sure how this combo is safe for my mental health though). I really want to remove Biology because of the overwhelming workload and because engineering requires Phy, Chem, Math. I have studied Biology in 9th and 10th grade. Have I made the right choice regarding subjects? Is it alright if I remove Biology? I want your opinions/suggestions/more information/experiences/additional university requirements on this subject. 

Please help and any help is appreciated.

Edited by TDgen47@IB

Hi!

I do not know a lot about the universities in USA, Australia, Canada or Denmark but, generally speaking:

1) If you go for medicine, then it is more likely that universities will require Biology. You will also need Chemistry HL and Maths HL and maybe Physics. (which you are already taking and it's good)

2) If you study Bsc, universities usually require two sciences for that. You will need Maths as well. Not sure which level but Maths HL is better since you wanted to do engineering as well.

3) As for engineering, you have an ideal set of subjects. Studying Chemistry HL, Physics HL and Maths HL, plus Economics SL, is only at your advantage. With this you can study almost any type of engineering.