What exactly is a bio IA supposed to be like?

oakendurin

Hi!

So I'm a little confused about the whole IA thing. My teacher hasn't really explained it at all yet because we haven't started our IAs. But I'm so impatient that I can't stop thinking about possible topics. We have looked at several IAs in class though, and most of them were experiment-based. And there was only one (the tuberculosis correlation IA) that was a database IA. The thing is, I think it would be more convenient for me to do a database IA, but I'm not exactly sure what's required from them. Could someone please tell me some basic information about what is and isn't a good topic like? Because I just can't figure that out for some reason.

The current topic I have in mind is protein analysis. The way I would go about it is by studying protein structures from databases and seeing how the structure is affected by the protein's function. As a future biochem student, I think this would be quite beneficial for me. But is this a really common and too simple of a topic especially for HL bio? And can something like this even be an IA topic or should it mostly be either experiments or something like the tuberculosis correlation analysis?

Hello,