IB COURSE SELECTION PROBLEM

Ziyi You

Hey guys
I'm new to IB and I'm in Year 10 but others have said it's better to get a head start on the topics so I plan to choose these(actually our school offers a quite limit range of subjects) Just want to check if the workload will be too heavy.
HL Maths
HL English B
HL Physics
SL Chinese
SL Economics
SL Chemistry (unsure of whether Biology is a better option?)
Open to suggestions and any information will be helpful!!! big thanks!

Idk about the other classes, but I take SL chemistry and I find it to be the hardest to do well in out of all my IB subjects (you might find it easy though because everyone's different) and also, I heard HL physics and math are the hardest IB subjects overall. The concepts in chem are easy to understand, but it all comes down to how you structure your answers for written response and just know that the lab reports you do have to be so detailed. It takes lots of practice and resilience. Hmmm well what are you planning on going into for university? If it's something like engineering, keep chem. If you want to go into something like medicine, I suggest possibly taking biology as a non-IB course if you can do that because some of my friends take three sciences and they take two IB sciences and one that is just with our regular curriculum. Does your school offer IB classes only or is there a regular stream as well?

I take biology at HL and I find it to be easier than chem SL, so maybe you'll have an easier time with bio SL than chem SL if you choose to switch, but again, it all comes down to what you're good at. 

• Like 3

What you should take into account is that Paper 2 in Chemistry is purely calculations -- so I think it should fit well with your Math HL. Biology is mostly memorising, but you really should choose what you're more interested in, because workload is big with both, you might as well get something out of it. :)