Have I chosen the right subjects?

sjhingran

Hi! I'm hoping to do Medicine in Australia. I'm new to IB, I wanted to make sure I have chosen the right subjects, and if the workload will be too heavy. I'm in Year 10, however, I will start working on the content now.

HL Biology

HL Chemistry

HL English

SL Maths

SL Latin

SL Psychology (unsure of whether Economics is a better option?)

Open to suggestions and any information will be helpful! Thank you!

bio + chem is a must for medicine (sometimes only chem depending on the uni) and you have those which is good

are you starting ib this year or next? because if you're not starting until next year don't start doing the work until next year??

i think psychology is a better option to economics but there isn't really a difference because i don't think either is a perquisite for med 

• Like 1

bio + chem is a must for medicine (sometimes only chem depending on the uni) and you have those which is good

are you starting ib this year or next? because if you're not starting until next year don't start doing the work until next year??

i think psychology is a better option to economics but there isn't really a difference because i don't think either is a perquisite for med 

Thanks for your response ^

I am starting next year, but others have said it's better to get a head start on the topics.

I think I will stick with Psychology then, is there a difference between HL and SL? Should I consider HL (I do have an interest in the topic)?

will be a difference in depth. I think if you take HL psych, drop HL english. also, interest, im sorry to say, doesnt always cut it. think about your aptitude. So, if you think you can manage, great go for it. but dont try a 4 HL-3Sl thing, it will probably drive you nuts.