MUN Questions.

usernamed

This is my first year being part of MUN..

And I'm going to go to the THIMUN conference in 1 and half to two months.

I have lots of questions about how MUN conferences generally go....(keep in mind, that I haven't been to any before)

My first question is..

Before the conference, will I be given any kind of information? Anything to research on? And if so, what will it be?

For now that's the only question I want answered. I'm pretty sure more questions will come to mind once this one is answered. 

Hey there!
Firstly, it's just worth mentioning that IB Survival may not be a suitable place to post or ask this question, it would only be relevant if it was directly related to your CAS and if you have a query about the reflections, hours, etc.

But you're in luck! I'm an experienced THIMUN delegate, I've also applied to become a Student Officer there! (but no luck, haha). Please do feel free to message me and ask me any questions you may have, I'd be delighted to help.  :)

But yes, regarding your first question, your school's MUN director should be giving you information and holing information/practice workshops in schools. If not, then that would be a problem. Here's a guide that gives you absolutely everything you need to know for your first conference, it'll be great fun - I promise you that! http://qatar.thimun.org/images/education/THIMUN%20Delegate%20guide.pdf

And here's a link to a plethora of THIMUN resources and educational materials, also includes sample resolutions and policy statements. http://qatar.thimun.org/education/mun-materials

You should really be getting to work because one month may sound like a long time from now, but it really isn't! Good luck! :)

• Like 2

Hello!

There are some useful files in the Extracurriculars section of IBS about MUNs.