Nov 2014 History HL/ SL Discussions - Paper 1 and 2

ben322

Sufficient time has elapsed for discussion of Paper 1 and 2 of History. How did you guys find it? Do mention your Route and Topics studied too!

For anyone curious, mine were : 

Paper 1 (Data Response paper) - Communism in Crisis -> Was totally thrown off-guard by the topic that came out IB finally tested China instead of USSR and i think they will continue to do so >< 

Paper 2 - Topic 3 SPS and Topic 5 The Cold War -> fairly doable paper i felt :) 

How did you guys feel about the paper?

K, so I'm a HL student and these were my topics/areas/whatever:

Paper 1 > (route 2) > peacemaking: Except they decided to be really obscure this time and I (well a lot of my friends too, actually) were really thrown off by the fact that they tested us on the smaller treaties of Trianon, Neuilly and St. Germain made at the Paris Peace Conference instead of ... well the more obvious stuff, I guess.  That and we're generally used to seeing questions about collective security and it's eventual failure in past exams ... so yeah, that was an unpleasant surprise.

Paper 2 > Topics 1 (Causes, practices and effects of war) and Topic 3 (Single-party states) > Not a bad paper at all, I thought the questions were pretty reasonable although my second essay was pretty rushed and I couldn't properly wrap it up but at least I got all my points down. 

I thought Paper 3 was really quite generic with its questions (I did Inter-war diplomacy, Hitler's policies, and Tsar Alexander II). From my class' point of view, the paper wasn't anywhere near as hard as it could have been considering all of the questions we saw had been asked before in some form.

Did anyone else find the Paper 3 difficult or easy?