IB subjects B SL and AB initio , can I change my option at the end of the course ?

hi there , so i have been wondering could I change my ib german B into ab initio at the end of the year !

i mean, can i study ib german B but having German ab initio exam at the end of the course ?

Cause i wanna learn as many german as possible with making sure that i can get good grades at ease .

do you guys have any similar experiences or any advices ??? 

thank you

The general rule is that ab initio is meant for absolute beginners, and if you have some experience (usually at least two years) with a language you take it at the B level. However, it's not really that enforced, and they let people who should be at a higher level take it at an easier level. My school let three native Spanish speakers (all from Spain, studied in Spanish until they were 14-15) take the HL Spanish B exam just so they could get a free 7, while I had to compete with them on the same exam being a non-native speaker, for which the course is intended. Thus the grade boundaries get artificially inflated. I think you usually need upwards of an 86%+ to get a 7 in Spanish, for example.

If you really want, you could just learn a ton of extra vocabulary and grammar and take the ab initio exam, but that's sort of cheating yourself, and isn't fair to the actual ab initio level students. But it's your choice at the end of the day.

• Like 2

Based on your flag, I'm assuming you're living in Germany (please correct me if I'm wrong). A further expansion on who takes the B level exam at SL is people with at least two years experience in the language, or people who have just moved to a country where that language is primarily spoken. The reason for this is because you're going to be exposed to the language either directly or indirectly, so as long as you're not sitting in a bubble of your native language you should pick up enough German to take the B level exam.