Help for P1 commentary as well as IOP/IOC needed. URGENT!

Guest Aniruddh

Guest Aniruddh

Hey Guys,

Our teacher gave us the poem 'The Visitor' by Gibbons Ruark and after a discussion on it for a couple of classes she told us to write a commentary on it and turn it in on Monday, so I have the weekend to write it. The problem is, I have never done lit before, the closest thing to the commentary that I've done is the style analysis in IGCSE (EFL) so I have no idea as to what is the requirement. I've been searching all over the internet, but there are different answers. Some say that you make a thesis and then support it by exploring the effects the literary devices create while others say that you just explore the literary devices (so, no thesis) and it can just be a running commentary at a line by line basis. All the contradicting answers have only made me more confused, so if someone here really understands the purpose of the commentary, please help me out! Also, what must be the length of the commentary? Our teacher said that about 2 sheets (4 sides) is decent, but people go on to write 6-7 sheets (which is not expected of us right now), but that seems like a LOT. Again, after searching on the internet, 1000 words seems to be the ideal word count, so if someone could confirm that for me I'd be very grateful.