Anyone on/planning to go on exchange?

-._._.-

Hey! I am an exchange student right now, would be happy to tell you about anything you want to know. :)

Since your exams were in 2013, I assume you mean university exchange? Well, I'm with YFU on a high school exchange, but the experience is similar nevertheless. The biggest differences may be living in a host family, which I'm doing now, but you probably wouldn't if you're in university; and learning in the native language (if you go to a non-English speaking country). Exchange is said to be "not a year in your life, but a life in a year" and that makes perfect sense to me. I've been in Norway for 9,5 months with one month to go and I have experienced something that isn't possible to put into words -- it's been both the hardest and the best year in my life. I've learned so much about myself, the life and goals I want, the people I want to be surrounded with, and I'm completely immersed in a culture far different from mine. My home country is only a 1000 kilometers away and yet the difference is enormous. I speak fluent Norwegian with no learning -- I've learned it all simply by living here and I know so much about the people and the country and the culture. By 9,5 months in, I feel like I understand.

I'd also really recommend going for a year, if you do. The first half of the year is a priceless learning experience, but it's like going uphill -- you don't really speak the language, the traditions weird you out, you miss home (holy jesus, Christmas time) and you are really hungry and really tired all the time. The second part of the year isn't that much easier, but it's more fun. You understand why things are done the way you are and whereever you go, you fall in love with the country, your friends, and if you have it, your host family.